One Word: Endurance

I’m at the point in college where I actually have to figure out what I want to do for the rest of my life. I have only 3 semesters left until I have to enter the real world beyond this Reno bubble and start following my dreams… Intimidated doesn’t even begin to describe what I’m feeling.

Recently, when considering my options I told a loved one that I was maybe thinking of law school in the future… he laughed. Not only did that make me want to never talk to him again, but it made me want to apply that day just to prove to him that he was wrong. I will never forget that feeling.

I think at some point in our lives, we all get pushed down though. We are told by outsiders or even someone very close to us that we can’t do it…. We can’t accomplish our dreams, we should just settle, we can’t have everything, and we are just going to end up with our hearts broken.

What do they know?

Can those people honestly say that they are passionate about their lives and have followed their dreams? Can they say they’ve ever even put themselves out there enough and loved something so much that they could get their heart broken by it? Probably not.

We will always be told that we can’t do things or that we will fail, but success is getting up one more time than you’ve been knocked down. This brings me to my inspiration…

Boston Red Sox player Dustin Pedrioa was always overlooked when he was growing up. The scouts constantly told him he was too small at 5’8″ or not talented enough in general to make it as a professional athlete. He didn’t care what they thought; he was going to do it. Their negativity provided the fuel he needed to work harder, get to the field earlier every morning, and do it for him. Not only did he have the courage to keep going when all he heard for years was that he wouldn’t make it, but he kept picking himself back up. His story is nothing short of amazing and he is a role model for the dreamer in all of us.

Whatever your dream is… Law school, a fitness goal, professional athlete, starting a business, or anything else….

Do it, and let all of that negativity do nothing to you except fuel your fire.

About Rachel Fransen

NV and CA Mortgage Loan Officer
This entry was posted in Find Yourself and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

