The Dreaded Gym

“I don’t stop when I’m tired, I stop when I’m done.”

Getting a gym membership, and actually using that membership as more of something shiny to go on your key chain is a challenge in our busy lives; however, it is one of the most rewarding things you will ever do for youself.

The truth is you will always find an excuse not to go, but the gym is the one thing in your life that will always do something positive for you. Exercise puts you in control of your weight, combats heart disease, prevents high blood pressure, boosts your mood, boosts energy, promotes better sleep, and makes you feel more confident in your own skin… What is more rewarding than that? Nothing Really.

I recently ran across Jason Gay’s article in the Wall Street Journal: The 27 Rules of Conquering the Gym, and it really stood out to me. Here are some of his tips on the gym along with my input:

  • The gym is will not make you feel instantly better about yourself because it’s not supposed to. The gym is supposed to hurt, you are supposed to feel tired, and everyone there secretly wants to kill themselves. Accept it and know you’ll feel good later.
  • The key to going to the gym is developing a routine. Going once every 4 days is not going to get you the results you want, but going 4 times a week will.
  • The only true way to get the body you want is to work out. If it says you can buy it and “get results” in 10 minutes, I promise that’s a hoax. Save your money and use the gym membership you already have. Not getting results fast enough? Work out harder.
  • A “post-workout dark chocolate recovery bar” is a candy bar. Don’t eat it.
  • You can do any abdominal workout all day long, but those abs won’t show unless you stop eating the cake, cupcakes, pies, cookies, and late-night drunk pizzas.
  • You didn’t buy a gym membership to watch the cable that you already pay for at home, so quit flipping channels and drooling over the television… and run faster.

If you try to find shortcuts, I promise you won’t get the results you want. The truth is, there are no shortcuts. It’s supposed to hurt and you’re supposed to hate it, but it will pay off in the end!

(Image courtesy of www.pinterest.com)

About Rachel Fransen

NV and CA Mortgage Loan Officer
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Dreaded Gym

  1. Hi Rachel!

    Couldn’t agree with you more that the gym can be one of the most rewarding you do for yourself. I absolutely enjoy a great work out. I’ve read many fitness magazines that have even listed workouts for the office. I love being in control of my weight and the gym is a horrible place to go, but it really pays off in the end.

  2. Thanks for the comment Kaitlin!
    I think we all hate it there, but it totally pays off and improves your mood! I’m glad you also share my passion for fitness and you are willing to spread your passion to your coworkers at your office. We all need those motivational boosts!

  3. Waheed Obaidi says:

    Rachel,

    I also read Gay’s article and it was great and I couldn’t agree more with you that there is no shortcuts. There are two things that I would like to add for a successful gym routine which are motivation and diet. From my experience motivation is probably the most important aspect to get going. Motivation leads to determination, hard work, and a good gym routine which in turn gives positive results. Diet is also very important, I strongly believe that the key to achieving great health and a good physique happens on the ratio of 30% in the gym and 70% in the kitchen.

    Muhammad Ali said it best “I hated every minute of training, but I said, “Don’t quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion.”

    Keep up the excellent work Rachel!

    • Waheed,
      I couldn’t agree with you more! Motivation and diet are a huge part of fitness. Developing a healthy diet is the only way you will see results! Thank you for the interest in my blog!!

  4. tjmorrey says:

    Rachel,
    Really enjoyed reading your blog. Kind of makes me want to drop everything and hit the gym. I am a golfer and since I started a routine workout every week I notice my strength, discipline, and motivation increasing every time I leave the gym. I love the first quote: “I don’ stop when I’m tired, I stop when I’m done.” Great blog can’t wait to read more.

    • TJ,
      Thank you for your comment! I’m glad I could give you a little bit of motivation for your workouts! Good for you for getting into a workout routine and remember to always change it up!

Leave a Reply

